Key figures

769 scientists
13 research units


ecology environment management genetic diversity renewable resources biology and genetics of plants wildlife management plant pathology integrated protection of plants



    Agropolis Resource Centre for Crop Conservation, Adaptation and Diversity

  • R-SYST network is a national network of around a dozen research teams including technicians, researchers and engineers in the fields of molecular biology, genetics and bioinformatics who are involved in the molecular and morphological characterisation of organisms.

  • Courses on' biodiversity and Land ecosystems' theme


Archive: Dossier Agropolis on "Biological control, biodiversity, and ecology in plant protection" (issue 4, September 2007, 60 p)
Download (pdf - 6 Mb)


Chantal Salson
Tél. : +33 (0)4 67 04 75 49

Home >The scientific community > Research


Research units and teams involved in 'Biodiversity and Land ecosystems'

769 scientists,

328 PhD students

13 research units

Keywords : ecology environment, management genetic diversity, renewable resources, biology and genetics of plants, wildlife management, plant pathology, integrated protection of plants


Dossier Agropolis on Biodiversity - Science for humans and nature (Issue 13, August 2011, 83 p.)

Download (pdf - 9 Mb)

"Collections taxonomiques, collections vivantes et ressources génétiques pour la biodiversité" (In French)
Number 17 - October 2013 - 75 pages

Click on the title to see the web site Member institutes and partners Graduate School Director
UMR ASTRE : Animals, Health, Territories, Risks and Ecosystems Cirad, INRAE CBS2, GAIA Nathalie Vachiery
UMR AMAP : Botany and Computational Plant Architecture Cirad, CNRS, INRAEE, IRD,UM I2S, GAIA Thierry Fourcaud
UMR CEFE : Center for Functional and Evolutionary Ecology CNRS, UM, UPVM, IRD, Montpellier Supagro, INRAE
I2S, GAIA, TTSD Marie-Laure Navas
UMR CEE-M : Center for Environmental Economics - Montpellier CNRS, INRAE, Montpellier SupAgro, UM EDEG Brice Magdalou
UR URFM : Ecology of Mediterranean Forests (in French) INRAE Avignon GAIA Eric Rigolot
UMR Eco&Sols : Functional Ecology & Biochemistry of Soils & Agroecosystems (in French) Cirad, INRAE, IRD, Montpellier SupAgro GAIA Laurent Cournac
UMR EMMAH : Modelling Agricultural and hydrological systems in the mediterranean environment INRAE Avignon
+Univ. Avignon
Stéphane Ruy
UMR ESPACE-DEV : Space for development IRD, UM, UPVD
+ Univ. Antilles-Guyane, Univ. Réunion
E2, I2S, GAIA Frédérique Seyler
UPR F&S : Forests and Societies Cirad GAIA Plinio Sist
UPR GREEN : Management of Renewable Resources and Environment Cirad I2S Aurélie Botta
UMR SENS : Savoirs, Environnement, Sociétés (in French) Cirad, IRD, UPVM GAIA Philippe Méral
UMR ISE-M : Institute of Evolutionary Sciences of Montpellier Cirad, CNRS, IRD, UM
CBS2, GAIA Nicolas Galtier
UMR LSTM : Laboratory of Tropical and Mediterranean Symbioses Cirad, INRAE, IRD, Montpellier SupAgro, UM GAIA Robin Duponnois
UMR TETIS : Land, environment, remote sensing and spatial information AgroParisTech, Cirad, Cnrs, INRAE I2S, GAIA Christiane Weber
Acronyms and abbreviations

Institutes and partners

AgroParisTech: Paris Institute of Technology for Life, Food and Environmental Sciences
BRGM Montpellier: Geoscience for a sustainable Earth
CHU de Montpellier: Montpellier University Hospital Center
CIHEAM/IAM.M: International Centre for Advances Mediterranean Studies - Mediterranean Agronomic Institute of Montpellier
CIRAD: Agricultural research for development
CNRS: National Scientific Research Centre
ENSCM: National High School of Chemistry of Montpellier
EPHE: Practical School for Higher Studies
Ifremer: French Research Institute for Exploitation of the Sea
IMT Mines Alès: Ecole Mines-Télécom
Inra: National Agronomy Research Institute
INRIA: National Institute for Research in Computer Science and Control
IRD: Research Institute for Development
Irstea: National Research Institute of Science and Technology for Environment and Agriculture
ISTOM: College of Advanced Studies in International Agro-Development
Montpellier Business School
Montpellier SupAgro: International Center for Higher Education in Agriculture Sciences
UM: Montpellier University
UPVM: Montpellier Paul Valery University
UNîmes: Nîmes University
Paris VI University
UPVD : Perpignan Via Domitia University

Research units form

UMR: Joint research unit
UPR: Internal Research Unit
UR: Research unit
US: Service unit
USC: Unit under contract

Doctoral schools

CBS2 EDA 168: Chemical and Biological Sciences for health - UM1, UM2
DSP ED 461: Law and Political Science - UM1
EDEG ED 231: Economy and management - Montpellier SupAgro, UM1, UM2
E2 ED 305: Energy and environment - UPVD
I2S: Information Structures Systèmes

The Doctoral School (École Doctorale, ED), GAIA (N° 584), was created in July 2015, from the fusion of two other doctoral schools: SIBAGHE (Integrated systems in Biology, Agronomy, Geosciences, Hydrosciences and Environment, N°477) and SPSA (Process Sciences and Food Sciences, N°306)

TTSD ED 60: Territories, time, societies and development - UPVM, UPVD




Update on 6/04/21

Chantal Salson
Tél. : +33 (0)4 67 04 75 49

Extrait du site